Gelatin is used in various methods and incorporated into various foods both savoury and sweet. You might be surprised to find out that a few of your favourite foods contain gelatin.

Besides food, gelatin is also used in the manufacture of non-food products such as bovine capsules used for pharmaceuticals and supplements. Other non-food items include glue, nail polish and crepe paper.

Quick Fact: 1 tsp of gelatin has 0g fat, 6g protein and only 25 calories. 

Because of the textural and sensory properties gelatin provides, it is used across many food applications for functional purposes to gel, thicken, stabilize, emulsify, bind, foam and whip prepared foods. Gelatin is a naturally occurring substance and has has a spring like molecular structure which swells in cold water and dissolves in hot water. There is currently no synthetic version of gelatin.

jelly 1.jpg

As mentioned before gelatin is used in the manufacture of gelatin capsules used for a range of pharmaceutical products including pain medication and supplements. Many vegetarians and vegans do not consume gelatin as it is an animal by-product made of collagen and so prefer to use vegetable capsules which are typically made of hypromellose.

Gelatin has several health benefits which include its ability to boost skin, hair and nail growth. It also reduces inflammation of joints, improves digestion and boosts muscle growth.

Gelatin is incorporated into tasty treats such as marshmallows, turkish delight, gummy bears, cake mixes, frostings, meringues and ice cream.

Advertisements